Posted by: theyarnwhisperer | July 16, 2010

De-stashing and De-WIPing

:O I can’t believe I just said the dreaded word…De-stashing! Yes, I’m guilty. I just went through my stash and put in a trash bag all of the yarn that I know I won’t use. My mom said I should donate it to the thrift store, but…I can’t be so cruel to my yarn! I’m going to keep it (In the trash bag) until I find someone who would appreciate it and use it. I feel bad, the yarn seems to be calling to me, saying “You know you’ll use me someday. What if you need me and I’m not here anymore?” But…I can’t hold on to everything. And…? De-WIPing? It’s a term I made up for lessening the amount of WIPs I have by finishing them up! I found a game/challenge on Ravelry that someone had posted, and so I’ve decided to try it. Here are the rules/ranks:

For each WIP you start, you’ll get minus 1 point.
For each WIP completed, you’ll get 2 points.
For each WIP completed that was started more than a month ago, you’ll get an extra 1 point (total of 3 points).
If you finish all your WIPs, you’ll get 10 bonus points, and can start up to 5 new projects with no negatives!

Frogging: If you frog an item you get only +1 for losing a WIP, but if you re-cast on the yarn/project immediately you count it from the first time you cast on.

And the ranks:

Woo! (General self praise, pointless but allowed any time)

Ambitious Amber (less than 0 points)

Participant (0 points)

Hard Core Fighter (1 point)

Happy Camper (2-4 points)

Stashburner Bully (7-9 points)

First-Rate Finisher (10-14 points)

WIP Warrior (15+ points)

Let’s see how long it takes for me to be a WIP Warrior! So…today, I finished a phone sock for my mom that I started a few weeks ago.   

So I guess this counts for my summer challenge project as well 😀

Current Rank: Happy Camper

In a couple of weeks, I really will be a happy camper as I’m going to a camp in Madrid for a week. I can’t wait! It’s a Christian camp run by missionaries, and I’ve heard that it’s really great! I think I’ll probably bring some tatting or something as it takes I think eight hours to get there…Lol, the first thing a crafter thinks when going on vacation: what projects to bring. I think I’ll have plenty to do there, but…the crafts call so pitifully when I leave them home!


Leave a comment

Categories