Posted by: theyarnwhisperer | July 16, 2010

The Merceria

This afternoon, I finally got a chance to go to the Merceria here in Rota! The shop was really small, and the only people in there were the shop owner, my brother, and I. It made me kind of nervous, because it was extremely quiet in there, and the owner was just standing there watching us. After a few minutes of browsing, I found a sign that said not to touch the yarn, oops! (This was after I had picked up at least several skiens of yarn to see what type of yarn they were) But I couldn’t very well tell what kind of yarn it was without picking it up; and I wasn’t touching the yarn, just the label. All of the yarn that I had seen was 100% acrylic, and so I asked the owner if she had any wool. (Yes, in Spanish. I don’t usually like trying to speak Spanish, but…it was worth it for the yarn) Thankfully, she understood me, but pointed to the acrylic saying that it was yarn. I think they call all yarn lana, which is also the word for wool. But she asked if I wanted 100% wool, and I said yes, or more wool than acrylic. She pointed me to some that was about 55% wool, and 45% acrylic. Not exactly what I was looking for. So instead I bought a skien of 100% cotton. Here’s a picture of the cotton yarn (The green yarn), and one of the yarn and needles that I had bought at the Chino shop. 

I would’ve never known that there was a yarn shop in Rota! This is the third time I’ve ever been in a yarn shop. What fun to see yarn lining the shelves of a store!


Leave a comment

Categories